JENNERSTOWN – Teddy Gibala has been the dominant driver thus far in the late model division at Jennerstown Speedway.

Gibala has won three of the four races run at the Laurel Highlands oval, including last Saturday’s race during the annual “Salute to First Responders” evening.

Other winners from Saturday were Gary Scott in the modifieds, Casey Fleegle in street stocks, Dale Kimberly in chargers and Andrew Pluta in four-cylinders.

Unlike his previous winning drives, during which he started back in the pack, Gibala, from Coulter (Allegheny County), was on the pole for the 30-lap feature on Saturday.

Finishing second through fifth, respectively, in the late models, were Joe Maruca, Barry Awtey, Bryan Shipp and former modified champ Zane Ferrell.

Scott, of Irwin, began racing go-karts decades ago before launching a dirt track and asphalt track modified career. A many-time winner at the now defunct Motordrome Speedway, Scott started from the pole position on Saturday and led every one of the 20 laps for his first win of the season.

All-time leading modified winner, Adam Kostelnik, was second after starting sixth. R.J. Dallape was third followed by former champions Anthony Aiello and Chris Brink in fourth and fifth. 

In the street stocks, Fleegle, who earned his second win of the year, was followed across the line by Aaron Van Fleet, Mike Davis, Jeremy Shaffer and previous week’s winner Zac Todaro.

Chargers defending champion Kimberly also started from the pole position and cruised to his second win of 2019 ahead of Steven Brown, Chase Payton, Kelly Shaulis and 2018 winner Dan Jackson.

Pluta, who started eighth, drove into the lead on Lap 4 and held on to take the checkered flag ahead of Brent Bickerstaff, Bentley Miller, Michael Strouse and Michael Saler in the four cylinders.

Dog Hollow

STRONGSTOWN – Jared Miley tuned up for the sixth annual Shawn ‘Sheetz’ McGarvey Memorial United Late Model Series (ULMS) special, paying $3,000 to win, with a super late model victory last Saturday.

Other winners included: Somerset’s Jamey Swank in the RUSH crate late models, Nate Smith in the semi-lates and the pure stocks, Chuck Dizzle of Johnstown with a double victory in the four cylinders and Todd Reusser in the 270cc micro sprints.


BEDFORD – After losing a heartbreaker earlier in the season, Greg Hainsey returned to score his first win of 2019 in Friday night semi-late action.

The other victors were Drew Ritchey in the 305 sprints, Ryan Peer in the four cylinders, Nick Bechtel in pure stocks and Jonathan Taylor in the E-mods, all repeat winners.

Hidden Valley

CLEARFIELD – Second generation driver Joe Petyak of Gallitzin picked up his first super late model feature Saturday night.

Todd English was also a first-time winner in the semi-late models, Joe Huber captured both the regular and make-up four-cylinders wins, Rich Howell of Clearfield won his second street stock feature and Ron Benton of Duncansville picked up his second pure stock feature win of the year. 

Recommended for you