Points leader Bob Jay has been dominant in the Street stock division at Bedford Speedway this season.

Jay won again last Friday night, his 19th career street stock victory, putting him two wins behind all-time division wins leader Kevin Weyandt.

Bo Feathers captured his third Super late model feature this season and Brian Lowery claimed his career-first Limited late model win at Bedford.

Chuck Weyant extended his point lead in the Hobby stock division by earning his ninth career win at Bedford.

This Friday, twin features will be run for the Super lates and Limited lates while the Street stocks and Hobby stocks will be running for double purses. There will also be a powder-puff event.

A driver’s autograph session begins at 6:15 p.m., with hot laps at 7 and racing set to begin at 7:30.

n Meyersdale Super late model driver Mark Smith was back in Victory Lane for the fourth time this season last Saturday night at Jennerstown Speedway. Smith started last in the 12-car field.

Scott Bowman won the Street stock race, his second this season, and Eugene Zerfoss claimed the Hobby stock feature victory, his fourth. Barry Awtey continues to lead the points battle in the Super lates while Adam Kostelnik tops the Street stock division and Zerfoss holds the points lead in the Hobby stocks.

n Randy Smithley drove to a Late model win No. 3 last Friday at Dog Hollow.

Other winners were Dave Padula in the Fastrak late models, Jeff Sweeney in the Street stocks, Tim Good in the Pure stocks and Virgil Small in the Four-cylinder sidewinders.

n Chad McClellan drove to his second career Limited late model victory Saturday at Thunder Valley.

Jeff Benson, who destroyed his car in a wild crash a month ago, held on for the Pure stock win, his fifth this season.

Other winners were Scott Rhodes in the Super lates, Dave Whetstone in the Semi-lates and Mike Lauffer in the Four cylinders.

n Tommy Beck claimed the victory last Friday in the Mid-Atlantic Asphalt Racing Alliance (MAARA) NAPA 100 Late model feature at Motordrome Speedway.

Beck, the fourth different driver to win a MAARA event this season, started third in the 23-car field and took the lead on Lap 5, dominating the rest of the way.

MAARA will return to action on Sept. 1 at the Holland (N.Y.) Speedway, and then finish the season at the Lake Erie Speedway on Sept. 15.

Other Friday winners at Motordrome were Adam Kostelnik in both the Modified and Street stock features, Aaron Minjock in the Chargers and Paul Rosa in the American flyers.

n A pair of drivers captured career-first wins last Friday at Lernerville, including Dutch Davies in the Late models and Jake Ayers in the Pure stocks.

Mike Lutz won the Sprint car feature, his first win in 10 years and Brian Swartzlander claimed his sixth victory in the Modifieds.

Cory Isenberg covers motorsports for The Tribune-Democrat.

Recommended for you