Four of six Johnstown City Council seats – and the mayoral position – will be up for grabs on Election Day.

Incumbent Frank Janakovic, a Democrat, is the only candidate on the ballot in the mayor’s race, although City Councilwoman Charlene Stanton is carrying on a write-in campaign, heading into Tuesday.

Four Democrats – Marie Mock, David Vitovich, Sylvia King, and Ricky Britt – are running for council, as are Mark Amsdell, a Republican, and Paul Ricci, an independent. 

Mock and Vitovich are looking to retain their current seats. 

The other two spots being contested are the ones currently held by Pete Vizza and Nunzio Johncola.

Only the council seats occupied by Stanton and Jack Williams, both Democrats, are not part of this year’s cycle.

• • •

Susan Gindlesperger and Max Pavlovich are trying to succeed retiring Judge John Barron in Magisterial District 47-1-02.

Both cross-filed in the primary with Gindlesperger winning the Democratic nomination and Pavlovich topping the Republican field.

The district covers areas in the East Hills and West Hills, including most of Richland Township, and all of Ferndale, Geistown, Scalp Level, Southmont and Westmont boroughs, along with Stonycreek and Upper Yoder townships.

• • •

Bob Kolar is the lone candidate in this year’s Cambria County sheriff general election after comfortably winning the Democratic Party primary.

He has been the county sheriff since January 1998.

Kolar is a Marine Corps veteran and retired Pennsylvania State Police trooper.

• • •

A Democrat, Republican and write-in candidate are vying to become Patton Borough’s mayor.

Jonathan Welchko won the Democratic nomination in the primary when Jason Della Valle got the Republican nod. Mark Stephens, a current member of Patton Borough Council, is running as a write-in.

They are looking to replace the municipality’s outgoing mayor, Gary Ceschini, who did not run for re-election.

• • •

Six candidates are competing to fill four seats on the Greater Johnstown School District board.

The field includes Saki Taranto, an independent, and Theresa Smith, a Green Party member. Edwin Mikesic, David “Dee Dee” Osborne, Vince Arcurio and Jason “Jake” Moore have cross-filed as both Democrats and Republicans.

• • •

Tim Warshel, Julian Beglin, Larry McCracken Jr. and Tricia Shaffer are the only candidates on the ballot in this year’s Richland School District board race. There are four open seats.

• • •

There will likely soon be some new board members in the Northern Cambria School District.

Three of the five candidates are newcomers: Jeff Messina, Patrick Shell and Carolyn Smith. Two incumbents – Delvin Lockard and Kevin Krug – are also on the ballot. Four seats are open, so, barring unforeseen circumstances, at least two of the candidates elected will be newcomers to the board.

• • •

Longtime Penn Cambria School District board members Patrick Albright, Terry Krug and Patricia Pyo, along with former Principal Guy Monica and first-time office-seeker Rudy McCarthy are running in the general election.

Four seats are open.

• • •

Lisa Drennen, Rebecca Webb, Dave Angeletti and Jeffrey Masterson all cross-filed in this year’s election to fill four four-year terms on the Westmont Hilltop School District board. Democrat Malika Karunaratne is seeking a two-year term. 

Dave Sutor is a reporter for The Tribune-Democrat. He can be reached at (814) 532-5056. Follow him on Twitter @Dave_Sutor.

Recommended for you